Event Design Awards Jury Conversations

May 28, 2020 - 5:00pm

This event has already occurred.

2020 Design Awards Jury - clockwise from upper left: Cathleen McGuigan; Patricia Rhee, FAIA; Margaret Cavenagh, AIA; Frank Zilm, FAIA


Each year, AIA Austin invites a respected group of design professionals from across the country to serve as Design Awards jurors. Since 2017, we've invited the public to meet this awesome team, and this year we are offering the same opportunity through an online platform! Jury Conversations is an evening of moderated conversation with our jurors where they present their work and design philosophies, and answer questions from the attendees. Register to attend using the link below.

Meet this year's group of esteemed jurors

The jury will be moderated by Aaron Seward, Editor of Texas Architect Magazine.

Aaron Seward robbed his first train at the age of 20 and has since robbed one train a year without ever being caught — a total of 24 trains! Victims of Seward's robberies rave about their experience with the masked bandit: Not only is he super nice about depriving them of their possessions, offering every form of obsequious apology for the inconvenience he imposes, he also donates 50 percent of the ill-gotten gains to a charity of the victim’s choice. Seward’s friends report that he’s really generous with the remainder of the loot and is always ready to pick up the tab at the bar. Eat your heart out Robin Hood! When not robbing trains, Seward wiles away the time editing Texas Architect magazine, in which he pens a highly controversial column that needles the spotty foundations of the state’s architectural culture, calling out stupidity and intransigence wherever they rear their ugly twinned heads, only to find that when one head is lopped off two more grow in its place!!

Jury Conversations is a free online event and open to the public. It will be conducted via Zoom webinar. Please register below. Join us for a lively discussion of architecture and design!


Thank you to our 2020 sponsors!


Award Underwriters:

Austin Concrete Development

Dalgleish Construction Company

Encotech Engineering Consultants

Foursquare Builders

Rogers-O'Brien Construction

Melba Whatley, Hon. TxA


Pilgrim Building Company



Dunaway Associates, L.P.


American Constructors

Braun & Butler Construction

Exclusive Windows & Doors of Austin

Thomas Printworks