Design Awards

From distinguished architectural design to achievements in public architecture, AIA Austin honors six organizations or individuals that exemplify excellence in the architecture profession and the greater community as it relates to the built environment. The chapter awards are selected through an open nomination from members. Congratulations to this year's winners!


Michael Hsu Office of Architecture

Firm Achievement Award

The Firm Achievement Award is the highest honor that AIA Austin can bestow on an architecture firm for outstanding contributions to the community, the profession, or for producing distinguished architecture.


Philip Keil, AIA

John V. Nyfeler, FAIA Community Service Award

Named for its first recipient, the John V. Nyfeler, FAIA Community Service Award is conferred for extended commitment to community service or significant contribution evidenced by a positive impact on urban, environmental, or neighborhood issues.


Jamie Crawley, AIA

Emerging Professional Award

The Emerging Professional Achievement Award recognizes professional achievement and leadership by architects who are in their first 10 years of practice after licensure. This award recognizes accomplishment in the practice of architecture as well as dedication to the profession, rather than promise alone.


R. Wilson Hanks, Assoc. AIA

Associate Member of the Year Award

Awarded to an individual Associate AIA member who best exemplifies the highest qualities of leadership, and has demonstrated unparalleled dedication and commitment to the AIA Austin Chapter, the community, and to the profession of architecture.


Jill and Stephen Wilkinson

The Edwin Waller Award for Public Architecture

The Edwin Waller Award for Public Architecture was created in 1998 with the City of Austin  to recognize achievement in public architecture, to recognize public-service architects, public officials, or other individuals, by their role as architects or as advocates.


Community First Village! Mobile Loaves and Fishes

Community Vision Award

The Community Vision Award was first awarded to Austin Foundation Communities in 2011, this award serves to recognize an individual or organization which has been instrumental in moving forward an affordable housing initiative in the Greater Austin area.


2016 Honor Awards Committee Members include:

Chris Cobb, AIA (Chair)

Ernesto Cragnolino, FAIA

Jacqui Dodson, AIA

Gary Furman, FAIA

Andrew Houston, Assoc. AIA

Garrett Loontjer

Melba Whatley, Hon. TxA


Ingrid Spencer, AIA Austin Executive Director

Jim Susman, AIA, AIA Austin President