AIA Austin Feed

2011 Honor Awards

April 15, 2011 - 5:30pm - 9:00pm

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2011 AIA Austin Honor and Design Awards.  The awards were presented at the Celebrate Design! event held on Friday, April 15, 2011 at the Blanton Museum, Smith Building.  Zarghun Dean served as Master of Ceremonies.

JOHN V. NYFELER, FAIA COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD bestowed on Sinclair Black, FAIA for extended commitment to community service or significant contribution evidenced by a positive impact on urban, environmental or neighborhood issues.

YOUNG ARCHITECTURAL PROFESSIONAL recipient is Brandon Townsend, AIA.  This award is presented to a member or associate member for professional achievement in leadership during the early years of participation in AIA Austin. The nominee should be a role model in the organization with these qualities: goes beyond the call of duty in service to the profession; influences improvement in the organization at the local level; encourages participation among fellow members and nonmembers; exemplifies qualities of leadership and of professional

THE EDWIN WALLER AWARD FOR PUBLIC ARCHITECTURE recipient is Jim Walker.  The Waller Award was created in 1998 to recognize achievement in public architecture, to recognize public-service architects, public officials or other individuals, by their role as architects or as advocates.

New this year, the COMMUNITY VISION AWARD designed to acknowledge organizations who have demonstrated outstanding efforts to improve the community and the quality of life through urban planning and development was awarded to Foundation Communities.

Presented by the past Presidents of AIA Austin, the GOLDWIN GOLDSMITH, FAIA AWARD for continued and extraordinary service to AIA Austin was received by John V. Nyfeler, FAIA.

THE FIRM ACHIEVEMENT AWARD was bestowed on Paul Lamb Architects and is the highest honor that AIA Austin can bestow on an architecture firm for outstanding contributions to the community, the profession or for producing distinguished architecture.

Award Winners
John V. Nyfeler, FAIA Community Service Award: 
Sinclair Black, FAIA
Emerging Professional Award: 
Brandon Townsend, AIA
The Edwin Waller Award for Public Architecture: 
Jim Walker
The Firm Achievement Award: