Design Awards


The Design Awards program showcases excellence in design produced by AIA Austin members as selected by a panel of distinguished jurors. The Design Awards Committee coordinates both the annual AIA Austin Design Awards Competition and the Awards Celebration to celebrate the accomplishments of its members as they relate to architecture.

Honor Awards 2015

From distinguished architectural design to achievements in public architecture, AIA Austin honors five organizations or individuals that exemplify excellence in the architecture profession and the greater community as it relates to the built environment. The chapter awards are selected through an open nomination from members.  The five awards are:

The Firm Achievement Award is the highest honor that AIA Austin can bestow on an architecture firm for outstanding contributions to the community, the profession, or for producing distinguished architecture.
John V. Nyfeler, FAIA Community Service Award Named for its first recipient, the John V. Nyfeler, FAIA Community Service Award is conferred for extended commitment to community service or significant contribution evidenced by a positive impact on urban, environmental, or neighborhood issues.
Emerging Professional Award
The Emerging Professional Award is presented to a member or associate member for professional achievement in leadership during the early years of participation in AIA Austin.  The nominee should be a role model in the organization with these qualities: goes beyond the call of duty in service to the profession, influences improvement in the organization at the local level; encourages participation among fellow members and nonmembers, exemplifies qualities of leadership and of professional practice.
The Edwin Waller Award for Public Architecture
The Edwin Waller Award for Public Architecture was created in 1998 with the City of Austin  to recognize achievement in public architecture, to recognize public-service architects, public officials, or other individuals, by their role as architects or as advocates.
Community Vision Award
The Community Vision Award was first awarded to Austin Foundation Communities in 2011, this award serves to recognize an individual or organization which has been instrumental in moving forward an affordable housing initiative in the Greater Austin area.