John Staub Exhibit Opening Reception

New Exhibit Opens at Austin Center for Architecture:  John Staub Award Winners 2011

John F. Staub has been described as “a man who was as exceptional a gentleman as he was an architect.”*   He was a twentieth-century American eclectic architect, based in Houston, and had a long and distinguished career designing modern houses based on historical models with a skill and grace that has rarely if ever been matched.

To honor Staub’s legacy, the Texas Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA), created the John Staub Awards in 2011 which are bestowed upon Texas craftspeople and designers for outstanding projects that demonstrate excellence and sensitivity to classical and vernacular traditions.

Photographic displays of the 2011 John Staub Award Winning Projects feature some of the finest houses being built in the classic tradition in Texas today, along with exceptional restorations, landscape designs, interior designs and urban design.

An Opening Reception will be held on Tuesday, July 10 from 6:00 pm-7:30 pm at the Austin Center for Architecture at 801 West 12th Street.  Our special guest will be Jennifer Staub Myers, floral designer, cardiac nurse and granddaughter of John Staub, who will share personal memories of the life of her talented and remarkable grandfather.  Please RSVP to Elizabeth.

The John Staub Awards Exhibit will be on display from July 3 – July 29 at the Austin Center for Architecture.  Hours are 8:30 am-6 pm Monday-Thursday and 8:30am-12 noon Friday.

Photo display boards of the 2011 award winning projects will be on display and will include work by:
Curtis & Windham Architects
Ralph L. Duesing Architect
Don B. McDonald Architect
Jay Baker Architects
Colby Design
Hull Homes with Christine G. H. Franck, Inc.
Clayton&Little Architects
Michael G. Imber, Architect
Lambert Landscape Company: Paul Fields, RLA, ASLA
Smith Ekblad and Associates
Hull Historical
Jackson & Ryan Architects

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA), is the leading national nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the practice and appreciation of the classical tradition in architecture and the allied arts and fulfills its mission through four program areas: education, publications, awards and advocacy.

*Stephen Fox, The Country Houses of John F. Staub