Congratulations to the 2011 Design & Honor Award Winners!


AUSTIN --- AIA Austin (Austin Chapter of The American Institute of Architects) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2011 AIA Austin Honor and Design Awards. The awards were presented at the Celebrate Design! event held on Friday, April 15, 2011 at the Blanton Museum, Smith Building. Zarghun Dean served as Master of Ceremonies.

JOHN V. NYFELER, FAIA COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD bestowed on Sinclair Black, FAIA for extended commitment to community service or significant contribution evidenced by a positive impact on urban, environmental or neighborhood issues.

YOUNG ARCHITECTURAL PROFESSIONAL recipient is Brandon Townsend, AIA. This award is presented to a member or associate member for professional achievement in leadership during the early years of participation in AIA Austin. The nominee should be a role model in the organization with these qualities: goes beyond the call of duty in service to the profession; influences improvement in the organization at the local level; encourages participation among fellow members and nonmembers; exemplifies qualities of leadership and of professional practice.

THE EDWIN WALLER AWARD FOR PUBLIC ARCHITECTURE recipient is Jim Walker. The Waller Award was created in 1998 to recognize achievement in public architecture, to recognize public-service architects, public officials or other individuals, by their role as architects or as advocates.  New this year, the COMMUNITY VISION AWARD designed to acknowledge organizations who have demonstrated outstanding efforts to improve the community and the quality of life through urban planning and development was awarded to Foundation Communities.

Presented by the past Presidents of AIA Austin, the GOLDWIN GOLDSMITH, FAIA AWARD for continued and extraordinary service to AIA Austin was received by John V. Nyfeler, FAIA.

THE FIRM ACHIEVEMENT AWARD was bestowed on Paul Lamb Architects and is the highest honor that AIA Austin can bestow on an architecture firm for outstanding contributions to the community, the profession or for producing distinguished architecture.

AIA Austin is also pleased to announce the results of the 2011 Design Awards Competition. The AIA Austin design competition seeks to recognize outstanding architectural projects by members and to promote public interest in architectural excellence. The jury met on March 25 and 26, 2011 at the Austin Center for Architecture and reviewed over 80 entries from local firms and made the following selections:


Citation of Honor:

Byrne-Reed House (Humanities Texas)
Clayton & Little Architects

Austin Office

Sol Austin

Garage Apartment
LZT Architects

McGarrah Jessee
McKinney York Architects

1917 Bungalow
Miró Rivera Architects

Honor Awards (Juror’s highest award)

Scout Island Residence
Alterstudio Architects, LLP

Kenya Rainwater Court
Dick Clark Architecture

Ranch Operations
Miró Rivera Architects


The AIA Studio Award encourages and recognizes excellence in design by emerging professionals
and University of Texas School of Architecture students. The 2011 recipient is:

Blanco Public Library
Brett Wolfe, Assoc. AIA

The Design Award Jury was made up of: Anne Fougeron, FAIA of Fougeron Architecture (San
Francisco), Scott Merrill, AIA, of Merrill, Pastor & Colgan (Vero Beach, FL); and, Trey Trahan, FAIA of
Trahan Architects (Baton Rouge, LA). For more information or images, contact Sally Fly at the
number above.