The 2017 Jury of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects elevated AIA Austin member Anthony Alofsin, FAIA, and 2017 AIA Austin President  Luis Jauregui, FAIA, to its prestigious College of Fellows, the highest honor awarded to members. The Fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession. Election to fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of architects as individuals, but also their significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level.

Out of a total AIA membership of over 90,000, approximately 3 percent are distinguished with the honor of fellowship and honorary fellowship. The elevation to fellowship is conferred on architects with at least 10 years of membership in the AIA in one or more of the following nomination categories:

1. Promoted the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession

2. Advanced the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training or practice

3. Coordinated the building industry and the profession of architecture through leadership in the AIA and other related professional organizations

4. Advanced the living standards of people through an improved environment

5. Made the profession of ever-increasing service to society


Anthony and Luis will be honored at an investiture ceremony at the AIA Conference on Architecture 2017 in Orlando. AIA Austin would like to pass our congratulations on to both Anthony and Luis, and thank them for their service to AIA, our Chapter, and the profession.


Read More About Anthony Alofsin, FAIA


Read More About Luis Jauregui, FAIA